That’s a Girl’s Game

21 11 2007

I’m sure we’ve all heard about girl gamers and how they actually kick a lot of butt, example, the Frag Dolls. And we’ve also heard about how outrageous it is that games like Petz and games that teach you how to cook or take care of babies are being made! How dare they try to make games that are obviously directed toward girls?! Well I have a huge confession to make right now….first off, I love games like Counter Strike, Rainbow Six Vegas, God of War, Psychonauts, Rachett and Clank, etc. Now that that is said….I also loooove the old Petz games…You know, when they had Dogz 5 and such. I don’t play it as much anymore, but there are times in a blue moon that the urge comes back. Also, I am kind of intrigued by Imagine Babyz. I know! I know! I feel like I SHOULD be ashamed! But really now, should I? I’m sure once I actually play the game I’ll think its dumb, but just because I do have a girl-like nature, shouldn’t I be able to indulge in that every now and then instead of all the testosterone that’s filled every big time game? I’d like to be able to go in and proudly play my copy of Petz or Imagine Babyz or something to that nature and still be respected as a gamer.

I just don’t think that stuff like that should be considered a guilty pleasure. I mean, the babyz or petz games could be the same for guys with Madden. When most people think of Madden that are gamers, they immediately consider Madden players to just be jocks and stupid people. Well, I happen to know a lot of people who play Madden and the same people play Gears of War, Assassin’s Creed, and a lot of older games that I haven’t even played! By the way, I play Madden every now and then, and the game is actually a lot more fun than I ever thought it’d be!

This is also the same argument with “hard-core gamers” and “casual gamers”. Can’t we all just be respected as helping the industry grow in our own personal interests? If people like Petz then they should make more games like that for that audience. If people hate Petz and no one buys it, then they can focus on other things. But just because a girl if playing Petz doesn’t mean she can’t kick your ass in Street Fighter.

So let the Petz players play Petz and let the Madden players play Madden and lets all just give out mutual respect for the people who are playing games. They make the world just that much better! We shouldn’t hate amongst our own kind, but instead embrace the differences that make playing games and talking about games accessible to all.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

