Recent Women in Games Industry Interviews

15 12 2007

This is an interview by Me. The interviewee is….me.

Elle (Interviewer)

Me (Interviewee)

Elle: So what got you into game design?

Me: Well I’ve always been more artistic and imaginative as a kid. And I loved cartoons. I thought for sure I’d be an animator. There was a sort period in the second grade when I wanted to be a game designer, but at the time I didn’t think that was even possible. I figured it was like some sort of far away unheard of club that you needed to be born into. (laughs). So from there, I got my first PS2 and DVD! I think it was “The Mummy” and I saw a making-of feaurette. I immediately fell in love with the idea of making movies!  I would take our family camera and write up these stories or scripts and make my friends and sisters act it out in front of the camera. It was the funniest thing I’ve ever done. When I was starting high school, I went to a month long program called the New York Film Academy and got my first taste of FILM, not just movies, but film. And I got to work for the first time with a Mac and awesome programs like Final Cut. It was like going to a foreign country. I did 5 week program and then another month one and then went to a film school for half of my day and regular school during the other half. When it came time to apply for colleges, I had no idea what to do. I just never really thought about it. It was during my senior year that I realized that I didn’t want to spend the next 4 years re-learning how to film. It just didn’t seem to make sense. Someone told me about SCAD, so I looked it up and looked at their majors. That’s when I saw Game Development.

Elle: And you fell in love again?

Me: yeah! It was like a moment of realization where I  thought, “Oh my god! I can get in the club!!!” (laughs)

Elle: Have you ever felt like you haven’t been taken seriously amongst your male peers?

Me: Are you kidding me? No way! I’ve always been taught by my mother that I can do whatever I want and no one can stand in the way of my dreams. Seriously! So when it came time to work with boys I just didn’t even flinch. And I think they never saw me as anything less than an equal and knew that I could take care of myself. I never felt like I had to prove myself. And if there’s a girl out there that feels like that, well stop it! You’re gonna hurt yourself! Just go out there and do what you gotta do.

Elle: What do you think about people who are annoyed by these recent interviews by MTV on women in the industry?

Me: Its ridiculous to be annoyed. They are acting like these interviews are women complaining and whining about how hard life is, but in fact they are the exact opposite. And I’m happy that they are doing so many interviews for women. I know that it helps me out. Its just that be a filmmaker it would so nice to find female filmmakers just because you could relate more to them. I’m still a huge Steven Spielberg wanna-be, but I love Sophia Coppola’s work as well and its not just because she’s a woman. I think the guys need to lay off on their whining about there being these interviews! Just shut up! Sometimes girls that are aspiring and working towards being in the game industry love to learn about other female designers because it makes up feel more like “Yeah! Wow! I really can do it!” more than if we just saw a man. Just like guys would better relate to men, girls would better relate to women. So let us have our interview and eat it too….wait…uhh…you know what I mean. Just stop being so defensive, read the interviews, and realize that they are positive toward your gender!

Elle: Do you think its hard for women to get into this industry and be taken seriously?

Me: No way! I think that right now there really isn’t a struggle for women to get into the industry. I mean, it was probably different in some places a few years ago, but as of now, I don’t see there being any big problems. The only thing that I think really gets to me is the Spike TV’s VGAs. If they are going to have naked women, then they better have naked men. I felt like there was nothing on that show that was directed toward me – a woman. But that’s not the industry. That’s TV.

(this is possibly to be continued at another time….)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

