Relationship Gaming

4 02 2008

I recently read an article on Kotaku.com about women bashing the fact that men play video games and relating it to being immature. Then I read an article of a woman standing up for men, saying wait a second! Women play games too! And we enjoy them! And in fact, men and women playing together is a great bonding experience!

Well now, I have had good experiences and bad experiences with the gaming boyfriend. But how, you might ask, for you are a gamer too! Well, I think like any thing in a relationship, there must be balance. I had a past boyfriend, lets call him Joe. And I have a current boyfriend, lets call him, Han (b/c I love Han Solo, so deal with it!). Anyway, when I was dating Joe, he was just getting back into gaming. I introduced to him some games that I had playing around with, like Guild Wars, God of War, and other games. He really latched onto Guild Wars. I’ve never been a huge MMO person, but I enjoyed the occasional play. But he really liked to play during any and all spare time.  This annoyed me and I felt like I was becoming one of those girlfriends. You know, the ones that hate it when they call their boyfriends to find that they’ve been playing a game all day and hate it! It was sickening. Haha. But With the current boyfriend, Han, he tries to include me in any game he plays. I never thought I’d really get into Halo, until he invited me to play with him or even Madden. And even though, I was against football games, the bonding that occurred while playing a game like Madden was so intense! What I think makes his way of gaming work with having a girlfriend is that, when I call and I NEED to talk or whatever, he’ll finish up whatever match or level he’s on and call me back right away. But most of the time, I have no problem with him playing any game! He’s always invited me to play with him, even when he was playing Resident Evil 4. I’m such a coward when it comes to games like that, but he only played it when I was around b/c I wanted to see it. It was like an interactive movie date!

So I don’t know about all of this “My-boyfriend-is-less-of-a-man-b/c-he-plays-video-games”! I agree that playing games together can be a truly bonding experience and not just in a romantic relationship, but also in friendships and among sibling. My and one of my sisters got really close when we started to play a lot of Rock Band and Mario Party (whichever one was on the Gamecube). And my friends and I beat Heavenly Sword together recently! That was so much fun and we still have our own little inside jokes about it!

When Han came to Savannah to visit me, the pressure was really off when he and I and all of my friends just played halo 3 multiplayer together! It really relaxed everyone! So I think games are great to bonding in any way and a great ice breaker too!

http://pandagon.blogsome.com/2008/02/02/6675/

Above is where the defending article is.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

