GDC-CA!

24 02 2008

So I went to San Francisco to be a CA (conference associate) at this year’s GDC. I was soooo nervous because I’d be meeting all of these new people! I got my brightly colored pink shirt and badge and was on my way to becoming a CA! My first job? Being a bouncer for Microsoft! Hahaha! No, really. I had to keep people off their couches because they weren’t open yet. Exciting.

Over the next few days, I met, traded business cards, and worked at GDC. I also did some sight-seeing. My boyfriend, DJ, and I went to LucasArts and took a tour by one of the guys who works there (a friend of mine). It was so exciting to actually see the workstations and other designers and modelers, etc. At the end of our tour I remember DJ telling our guide that a smile never left my face the entire time, which I realized was true. My cheeks did hurt! The facility is absolutely beautiful and you can tell they want to keep their employees very happy.

My birthday was on the 21st and it was a great one! I’m 20 now! Yay! I worked at the LucasArts presentation of the Force Unleashed, where they revealed actual gameplay for the first time! And the game looks amazing! Afterward, I wanted to talk to another LucasArts person. I was going after Haden Black, but he was so busy that i decided to go ahead and approach one of the others. I ended up talking to a producer at LucasArts and we had a great discussion about what I should be focusing on and such.

On my last day, at my last session, one of my dreams came true! I stood there with a friend, Matt, and handed out evaluation forms to people entering the session. I looked over and saw a woman standing with two men talking. I didn’t think twice about it until she looked in my direction. It was Jade Raymond. I couldn’t believe it! I had admired her work for so long! It was the first time I ever felt like a fanboy or girl….uh yeah. So she walks into our session. Matt says, “Hey I love your game!” and she smiles and says thanks. I just stand there with my mouth open and utter, “yeah.” As soon as she walked by us I was hitting myself thinking “What?! What did I just say?! That’s it?!”

The session began. It was all about Stranglehold’s Tequila bombs! I had never played Stranglehold, but I think now I’m going to have to check it out! It was a great session! But I was wondering “Okay, how should I approach her?” And then after the session they left. I was so bummed because I couldn’t believe I had actually chickened out. I then looked out the door and I could see her talking at the end of the hall. I knew I had to say something! Anything!

So as she was walking down the hall towards us, I just took a deep breath and went for it! I’m sure I looked rather silly and red in the face. And I’m pretty sure I started off babbling a little. Haha! But she was so nice and talked to me for a good bit! I calmed down the more the convo went on. And then I gave her business card and she gave me hers. We parted ways and I walked back to Matt and our supervisor and I was so happy and so proud of myself that I had done it! And after something like that, I feel like I can totally approach anyone!

So I suppose in a day or two I’ll be starting my emails out to everyone I met! Yay! It was such a great experience and even though I was tired at the end of it all (I believe I slept til noon today…), I didn’t want it to end. I can’t wait for next year!

Actions

Information

One response

4 03 2008
Brian Shurtleff

Oh you got into the CA program? Lucky girl.
I was hoping to get in.
Ah well, there’s always the Austin GDC who may likely take me in as a volunteer again…

Leave a Reply

