Final Fantasy VII for the PS3

6 08 2008

Soooo if any of you peruse sites like Kotaku or have ventured into your local Best Buy, you’ve probably seen this ad.

Now, my boyfriend works at Best Buy. He doesn’t know too much about the whole FF series and all, but he actually approached me and asked if I had heard about FFVII coming to the PS3 this month. I then told him that I saw a poster for it on Kotaku! So we ventured to his store and did some investigating. No one else is quite sure what’s going on. We types the number info into the computer and sure enough, it exists. There’s even a price for it and all. But really? Is it real?

I asked Gamestop employee when we decided to investigate more and so visited Gamestop at the mall. The employee shook his head and rolled his eyes saying, “Ummm no way.” And then just kind of walked away. I did not appreciate the disrespect. He was acting like I was trying to tell him of the second coming of Christ as I fed my squirrel friends and rock back and forth to no end. I told him what I saw and I was just curious…so no one knows what’s going on. DJ thinks its either the real thing or its a preorder box coming in announcing it. I don’t know what to think at all…..oh Square Enix or Best Buy…why must you play your game of lies and deceit with me….whhhhyyyy?!!!


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 08 2008
Ben Retan

Just recently Crisis Core producer Hideki Imaizumi quashed fan’s hopes by stating there were currently no plans for remake. If you need a second opinion, there’s always longtime FF character designer Tetsuya Nomura, who stated in a Dorimaga magazine interview back in June “it appears that there are often overseas rumors like ‘Are you currently developing a VII remake?’ My apologies, but were absolutely not making [such a game].” And finally, the company’s official response to the fanmade FF VII petition, which seems to settle the question for good:

“SQUARE ENIX of Japan, has no current plans to create a sequel or remake to that particular title at this time. This is not to say that it will never happen, it’s just that their development teams are currently focusing on numerous other projects. We hope this information has been of assistance.”

13 08 2008
Andre

Reason number 8 zillion to avoid Gamestop. As for the FFVII release (I hate myself for how hopeful am I about this), it’s so damn STRANGE that it actually makes sense. If Saturday comes and goes with no FFVII, I’ll just buy the PSN Ratchet & Clank expansion like I’ve been planning to do.

PS–Thanks for writing an actually sensible entry about this rumor. The internet needs more of that.

Leave a Reply

