Fable 2 Pub Games? Amazon, what gives?!

16 08 2008

So after deciding to finally preorder my copy of Fable 2 from Amazon, I started to see comments saying that people who preordered from Amazon are STILL waiting (several days later) for their pub games code to arrive. I was very disturbed by this and decided to get some straight answers from Amazon. I called them on the 15th (the day I preordered) and asked them if they were still giving the game code for the xbox pub games for Fable 2 with the preorder. The man on the phone verified that that promotion was still in motion. I then asked when I could expect to receive MY code. He told me within 24 hours, I would receive my code. It has now been 24 hours and still nothing. So then I emailed Amazon about it.

At some point today they sent this message back to me:

” Thank you for writing to us at Amazon.com.

I’m sorry to hear that the pre-order code for the game “Fable 2 Limited Edition” was not yet received.

Customers who pre-ordered after August 11th, will receive their code by August 18, 2008. Hence we will send your pre-order code via e-mail by August 18, 2008.

If you have not received your code by this date, please let us know by filling out the e-mail form on this page:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/contact-us/pricing-and-promotions.html/

Again, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and express our gratitude for the patience you’ve displayed thus far.

I hope the above information has been helpful.

Thanks for shopping at Amazon.com.”

So yeah, there you have it apparently. I expect to have my code on the 18th. If not, I will be sure to cancel my preorder and go to Best Buy to get it. Hopefully this will help everyone else who is in this same spot.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 08 2008
ogun

Found this post via a google search and I’m in the same boat except it is now the 18th and still no code from amazon. I emailed them this morning: no response. Called them an hour ago: they couldn’t tell what the issue was so they were going to forward my issue to “marketing” and I should hear back in 24 to 48 hours. Bah.

27 08 2008
Kato

I just preordered mine last night with the expectation that I’d also get a Pub Games code. Now I’m not so sure… I’ve seen that Aug 18th date tossed around and am wondering if it’s too late for me.

Alack and alas!

10 10 2008
Guy

Did you ever find out if the promotion will last until the game is released? I just ordered mine tonight, October 10, and am considering canceling it if I’m not going to actually get the code. I would call them myself, but I can’t, for the life of me, find any phone number.

10 10 2008
gmunster

I don’t know if they are still doing the preorder pub games, but here’s the amazon help number: 1-866-216-1072

Let me know what they say.

Leave a Reply

